Managing Release Calendar Permissions

Release Calendar permissions are managed separately within each release calendar.

Release Calendar permissions are able to be granted based on:

The following table lists the different types of release calendar permissions and the functions they secure.

 

On this page:

Calendar Permissions

Explanation

View calendar

Permission to open release calendar and see the releases within it (except releases which are not visible to the user - see release permissions)

A user with View Calendar will also be able to copy the calendar if the user has the Create Release Calendar global permission.

Edit calendar

Permission to edit release calendar. This includes changing name, description and adding, removing releases to/from the calendar.

Manage calendar

Permission which extends Edit calendar permission by adding the ability to change the calendar owner and configure calendar permissions.

(warning) The release calendar owner user is always implicitly granted Manage calendar permission.

 

Release Calendar Owner

Every release calendar is required to have an owner. This is a user who will have full control over the release calendar and will be able to edit and configure permissions on the release calendar.

By default the calendar owner is the user who created the release calendar.

If a user is an owner of a release calendar, this user does not need to be given any explicit permissions within the calendar, as the user implicitly has Manage calendar permissions.

Granting permissions to Users or Groups

Log in as a user with the 'General Access' global permission.

  1. From the top level navigation menu choose Releases >Manage Calendars.
  2. Locate the calendar of interest and click the 'Configure' link in right most column to open the calendar configuration page.
  3. On the configuration page select the Permissions tab from the menu on the left to open the permissions configuration page
  4. In the Type dropdown list, select the permission you wish to grant.
  5. In the Assignee Type  dropdown list, either:
    • if you wish to grant the permission to a group select Group
    • if you wish to grant the permission to an individual user select User
  6. In the Assignee dropdown list select the user/group you with to grant permission to.
  7. Click the Add button
  8. Repeat the last 3 steps until all required users/groups have been added to the permissions.

 

Deleting permissions for Users or Groups

Log in as a user with the 'General Access' global permission.

  1. From the top level navigation menu choose Releases >Manage Calendars.
  2. Locate the calendar of interest and click the 'Configure' link in right most column to open the calendar configuration page.
  3. On the configuration page select the Permissions tab from the menu on the left to open the permissions configuration page.
  4. Locate the permission you want to remove and click the Delete link in the right most column.