Managing Global Permissions

Global permissions are product wide and are granted to groups or individual users.

 

On this page:

This table lists the different Cycle Control global permissions and the functions they secure:

Global Permission

Explanation

Manage Release Type

Permission to perform all release type related functions.
A user with Manage Release Type will be able to view, create, copy, delete, edit release types.

Create Release

Permission to create releases.
A user with Create Release permission will be able to create new releases, but will not be able to view or edit existing releases unless they have been granted the appropriate release permissions.

Create Release Calendar

Permission to create release calendars.
A user with Create Release Calendars permission will be able to create new release calendars, but will not be able to view or edit existing release calendars unless they have been granted the appropriate release calendar permissions .

General Access

Permission to view Cycle Control menus and pages.
Users with General Access permission will be able to view the Releases menu in the Jira top level navigation and access the releases and release calendars pages, but may not be able to see all existing releases and release calendars unless they also have View Release and/or View Release Calendar permissions.

Cycle Administrator

Permission which grants unlimited access to all product functionality.


About 'Jira System Administrators' and 'Jira Administrators'

Since version 3.1.0, when Cycle Control is first installed all groups which are granted the Jira System Administrators or Jira Administrators global permission will also be granted the Cycle Administrator permission - users in those groups will have unlimited access to the product functionality. However, being a Jira Administrator is not enough to access Cycle Control unless Cycle Control global permissions are also granted. Jira Administrators can grant any global permission to themselves.

Granting Global Permissions

Log in as a user with the Jira Administrators global permission

  1. Choose  > System. Select Release Management to open the product configuration page
  2. From the left menu choose Global permissions  to open the Global Permissions page, which lists all configured global permissions
  3. In the Type dropdown list, select the global permission you wish to grant.
  4. In the Assignee Type  dropdown list, either:
    • if you wish to grant the permission to a group select Group
    • if you wish to grant the permission to an individual user select User
    • if you wish to grant the permission to a project role select Project role. (info) Project role assignee type is available only for Create release permission.
  5. In the Assignee dropdown list select the user/group you with to grant permission to.

 

Removing Global Permissions

Log in as a user with the Jira Administrators global permission

  1. Choose  > System. Select Release Management to open the product configuration page
  2. From the left menu choose Global permissions  to open the Global Permissions page, which lists all configured global permissions
  3. Locate the global permission you want to remove and click the Delete link next to that row.