Advanced Options

On this page:

Configure Advanced Options

For both project and system snapshot deployments, Configuration Manager provides a set of advanced options for managing the deployment of some specific configuration objects.

Advanced Options

The advanced options are:

  • Do not merge Versions and Components - skip the import of any changes to versions and components. The main use case for this is when doing project migrations - the project configuration is deployed on the target system using Configuration Manager and then the data is migrated using Jira's project import tool - however, the tool requires no changes to versions and components to be present in the target project.

  • Do not merge changes in Project Roles - skip the import of any changes of users and groups in project roles. This is useful when there is a different set of users with particular permissions on the different Jira systems.

  • Do not merge Global Permissions - skip the import of any changes to global permissions. This is applicable only for system snapshots as they include the global permissions of the source system.

  • Do not merge Object Descriptions - skip the import of any changes to descriptions of existing objects (projects, issue types, request types, etc.). Descriptions of new objects will be imported. This is applicable for all deployment types.

  • Do not merge changes to Avatars - skip the import of any changes to avatars of existing objects (projects, issue types, request types, etc.). Avatars of new objects will be imported. This option is applicable for all deployment types.

For "Project with Issues" snapshot deployments, there are additional advanced options:

  • Do not perform re-indexing during the deployment - re-indexing will not be performed after issue data is imported. The deployment time will be considerably reduced but re-indexing must be manually triggered afterwards.

  • Attachments - a field to provide the path where the attachment files reside. This option is available if the files were not included in the snapshot during its creation. Read more about Moving Attachments here.