This site is moving soon to become part of an integrated Appfire documentation and information site for our apps. This site will remain available during the transition to our new and improved site. Once this site is moved over, this banner will be updated with the new site link for easy access.

Take a look here! If you have any questions please email support@appfire.com

2.0 Release Notes

23 April 2014

The Botron Configuration Manager for Jira team announces the release of Configuration Manager for Jira 2.0.

Upgrading to Configuration Manager for Jira 2.0 is free to all customers with active software maintenance.

Don't have Configuration Manager for Jira 2.0 yet?

Highlights

The new major release of Configuration Manager provides the ability to choose between two deployment modes when deploying system snapshot.

Merge Mode

  • Configuration objects and projects present only in the snapshot are added
  • Configuration objects and projects present in both the snapshot and the target Jira instance are merged
  • Configuration objects and projects existing only in the target Jira instance are preserved

This is the default deployment mode which was present in previous releases of Configuration Manager. It is recommended to use this deployment mode when deploying from staging to production or when merging two production Jira instances.

 

 

Restore Mode

  • Configuration objects and projects present only in the snapshot are added
  • Configuration objects and projects present in both the snapshot and the target Jira instance are merged
  • Configuration objects and projects existing only in the target Jira instance are deleted

This deployment mode is suitable for creating clones of production systems as it will exactly mirror the configuration of the production system without the need to restore a possibly huge database backup. It is not recommended to use restore mode when deploying from staging to production as it may cause loss of data.




When deploying in restore mode administrators may choose to keep certain custom fields which are necessary for the correct functioning of a specific app. If a deletion of custom fields is detected, a dialog will be presented for selecting which custom fields should be kept.

For more information see Selective deletion of custom fields.

 

Updates and fixes in this release

-