Selective Merge [archived]


On this page:


Overview

When Jira administrators migrate or merge configurations, there might be conflicting changes or they might want to avoid particular changes on the target Jira instance. Configuration Manager's Selective Merge feature allows you to avoid overwriting configuration elements on target when deploying configuration snapshots. All Selective Merge modifications are visible in the Audit Log.

Configuration Manager detects configuration elements which will be modified on the target instance by the deployment. Selective Merge then allows you to rename the conflicting configuration elements from the snapshot and create them as new elements on the target Jira. You can also choose to convert a default scheme from a snapshot to a new non-default scheme instead of overwriting the matching scheme on the target Jira.


Selective Merge Use Cases

  • Migrations - during migrations when the source configuration must fit the target without altering it other than adding new projects.
  • Project Templating - when deploying new projects with a new set of schemes/boards instead of reusing matching ones.
  • Concurrent Мodifications - when administrators must handle concurrent modifications in development environments and promote them to production instances.



Supported Objects

List of configuration objects supported by Selective Merge (as of CMJ 6.4.1):

  • workflows and workflow schemes
  • permissions and permission schemes
  • issue types, issue type schemes, issue type screen schemes and issue link types
  • custom fields, field screens, field screen schemes, field configurations, field configuration schemes 
  • notification schemes
  • issue security schemes
  • statuses
  • resolutions
  • events
  • project categories
  • agile boards
  • dashboards and filters


How It Works

When you start a configuration snapshot deployment, on the Deployment Wizard's Analyze phase in the list with modifications you can choose and change unwanted or conflicting changes. You can click on the →A marker next to a configuration element and you can rename it in the dialog that appears. This ensures that the configuration element from the snapshot will be created as a new element with the new name on the target Jira.


To selectively merge configuration changes:

  1. Start a configuration snapshot deployment.
  2. On the Analyze phase, navigate to Workflows tab for example.
  3. Choose an unwanted modification to a workflow/workflow scheme.
  4. Click on the →A green box, a new dialog pops up, containing an option to enter a new name for the configuration element.



5. Enter a new name and click the mark. 

   You can also cancel the rename with the mark or revert to the previous name with the undo mark .


6. After you confirm the new name a warning appears reminding you that there are pending renamed elements.

    To finish the process of a selective merge, you need to click on the Analyze button. 




The configuration element will be renamed, the configuration changes will be reanalyzed and new modifications will be presented on the page.


Default Schemes

With Configuration Manager, you can also selectively merge modifications to default schemes of the supported configuration elements.

When a default scheme will be modified by the snapshot, you can choose to rename the scheme from the snapshot and create it as a new non-default scheme on the target Jira instance. This way you can preserve the default scheme on target unchanged.


To modify a default scheme from a snapshot:

  1. Start a configuration snapshot deployment.
  2. On the Analyze phase, navigate to Workflows tab for example.
  3. Choose a change to a default workflow scheme.
  4. Click on the  box

         A new dialog pops up, containing an option which allows you to rename the default scheme from the snapshot and create is a non-default scheme on the target.




5. Enable the option "Do not match to default scheme" and enter a name if you would like to keep the default scheme on the target unchanged.

   A new non-default scheme will be created instead with the name provided by you.



Audit Log

You can review each Selective Merge modification (the configuration elements before and after the changes) in Configuration Manager's Audit Log.